Stink Bugs

You haven’t heard terribly much about my garden in a while, and the reason for that is that is has been an absolutely awful year for it. From an early 100+ degree heat wave, followed by record temps all summer to a mysterious invasion of some sort of pest that sucked the life out of anything that survived, we barely had enough to keep us fed with little left over for any preserving. Luckily, the break in the heat appears to be giving me a late tomato crop that will hopefully survive long enough to ripen.

Fast forward to today, when I saw this article in my feed reader: StinkBug Takeover. Whoa. That is exactly what decimated my mulberries, my cucumbers, my watermelon and half of my other crops. It’s being called an invasion of biblical proportions, and I have to agree. They’ve been finding their way inside our house as of late too, and killing them is just a gross process. They hadn’t responded to my natural pesticides, and unfortunately appear to have no known predators. Great.

I guess the best solution for next year is to be extra vigilant with checking the undersides of leaves for their eggs, since they only breed outdoors. I went out of town a few times at the start of the season and I know that’s pretty much went everything went to hell. Maybe I’ll coat all the leaves in soap before I go next year!

ANy of you other gardeners out there having a stinkbug problem? Find any good solutions? I’d love to hear them. I’ve been squishing them individually, but it’s a gross and limited process.

9 thoughts on “Stink Bugs

  1. I was reading somewhere that spraying kaolin clay on the plants prevents the nasty stink bugs from laying their eggs on the leaves…and that you’re not supposed to squish them in the house because it can attract more of them. Also, keeping the yard mowed fairly short and free of weeds…stupid stinkbugs. : /

    Read this on a gardening forum- preventive millet planting!

    http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/tompests/msg0312464923729.html

    “Stink Bugs: This year I’ve ordered ornamental millet to plant as a trap crop for stink bugs. I killed HUNDREDS of them that were ruining my tomatoes and melons last summer. Apparently they love millet seeds, and if it’s planted before the tomatoes and melons are set out, it’s pretty effective at attracting these pests and keeping the melons and tomatoes relatively stinkbug-free. Birds love the millet seeds and will eat the stink bugs that cluster on the seed heads as well as the seeds.”

  2. If it wasn’t stink bugs, it was slugs. If it wasn’t slugs it was aphids, if it wasn’t afphids it was stink bugs again and mold or blight.

    *sighs*

    But I will be trying sun flower seeds around the garden for the birds to eat both stink bugs and slugs at least.

Leave a Reply

