Coconut Milk Ice Cream

I’m not sure I should be making this admission so close to a cherished American holiday, but I honestly just don’t care for most ice creams. They’re too rich, too fatty, too full of *something* my body doesn’t like. But it WAS a holiday, and also close to 100 degrees outside, so the craving to make some kind of frozen dessert hit hard. Our grocery store’s “hippie” section has recently started carrying dairy products made from coconut milk, so I decided to see how easy it would be to reproduce them at home.

I looked at several online recipes and then really just made up my own. It worked out to this:

The yolks of 4 eggs
add to them about 1/2 cup of sugar, and whisk until light yellow and a little frothy.
Pour into a saucepan and add 2 cans of good quality coconut milk. whisk for several minutes until light and frothy, then turn on the burner.

Cook, stirring, for 10ish minutes, but don’t let it boil! (it gets this really weird texture if you do)

Once it’s thickened up a little, turn off the heat and then add your extract. I used vanilla, about 3 tbs.

Put the pan in the fridge and let it cool down, then pour into your ice cream maker and process for roughly an hour. Once it looks like soft-serve, pour it into a freezer-safe container and freeze for about another hour.

Notes: I used Goya coconut milk for this one because it was the best my local store had. I suspect it would be better with an organic brand. It also very clearly tastes like coconut milk (which I happen to like) and with only 1/2 cup of sugar is not terribly sweet. (another plus in my book)

This is an ideal dessert after Indian or Thai food. I may experiment further with adding ginger crystals or lychee. The basil works really well with it too.

If you want a more traditional dessert, I recommend adding some crushed pineapple for a “pina colada” flavor, and then use it as a base for an adult milkshake with a little rum.

Leave a Reply

