an experiment in eating

So last week I decided that every meal I made at home was going to contain something out of our garden. It was surprisingly easy and delicious. In addition to the cucumber salads I posted about earlier, I also whipped up a really yummy squash and zucchini lasagna.

garden625 004

Aside from trying to make the noodles properly fit in the pan, the lasagna was super-easy, and fed us for three meals. (I also grilled some chicken for the husband who is not-so-much into vegetarianism)

Y’all will have to bear with my recipe writing, I’m one of those cooks who just throws things into the pan until it looks right. So… feel free to change this up to suit your own tastes.

First, I heated up my cast-iron pan and thinly sliced three small squash and two zucchini my friend Bonnie brought me. I’d guess it was about 2 pounds of veggies. I sauteed the veggies with some garlic, salt and pepper in olive oil until they were tender. While those were sauteeing, I heated up some canned tomato sauce and added basil, oregano, salt, pepper, garlic and diced tomatoes. I also boiled half a box of whole wheat lasagna noodles until they were al-dente.

This is where the fun begins! Start with a coating of tomato sauce in the bottom of a lasagna pan, then add a layer of noodles. Spread a thin layer of ricotta over the noodles and top with grilled veggies. More tomato sauce, then more noodles, followed by more ricotta, veggies and tomato sauce. Rinse and repeat until you run out of veggies. On that last layer, add some finely chopped fresh basil and some extra ricotta. Top with another layer of noodles, the last of the tomato sauce, and a liberal covering of shredded mozzarella.
Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 350 degrees for about an hour. To get a nicely browned top, remove the foil for the last 15 minutes of baking. Let cool for about 20 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

