About that pie crust in the last post…

It was for this:

tomato and onion pie

A savory onion and tomato pie that was inspired by my friend Hannah’s cooking of this pie recipe from the Food Network.

I made basically the same pie, but with a few notable changes. First, I used whole wheat cous-cous in place of bread crumbs, and I eliminated the mayonnaise. I also couldn’t find fontina cheese at my local store, so I upped the parmesan and added some leftover cheddar from the fridge. I subbed oregano for the thyme (because I didn’t grow any thyme this year) and probably tripled the amount of basil (yes, I have a basil addiction). I also mixed large and cherry tomatoes because my cherry tomato plants are… exuberant… at the moment.

The pie is in the fridge waiting to be cooked for dinner. For now, I’m off to a showing of Food Inc. More on that later.

Leave a Reply

