Happy Cows make ME happy!

Now that it looks like Wayne might be in town more often, I was again contemplating the dilemma of feeding him regularly. Luckily, my friend Steph posted a link to a local farm which offers a meat CSA. It works out to about 68$ a month for 10 pounds of meat and a dozen eggs. Happy farm cow, pig and eggs makes ME happy, and the price is pretty reasonable. I have to do some budget finagling, but I think I might try this.
Anyone else done it?
Riverview Farms CSA

bonus, while I’m picking it up from the Pine Street Market drop off location, I can get applewood smoked bacon!!!! mmmmm (yes, bacon is my vice. it’s about the only meat I can eat anymore)

Riverview Farms is a certified organic family farm on 200 acres in the beautiful foothills of the Appalachians in Northwest Georgia. In the fertile bottomlands of the Coosawattee River west of Carter’s Lake, we gently cultivate certified organic vegetables, Berkshire pork, and grass-fed beef.

One of the oldest, and largest, certified organic farms in the state, our goal is to work with the environment to enliven the farm through the mutually supported functions of soil, grasses, and animals as we produce organic vegetables and meats. With detailed attention to soil quality, animal husbandry, grass production, and crop diversity, our methods surpass organic certification requirements.

3 thoughts on “Happy Cows make ME happy!

  1. We are a part of that meat CSA. It’s so convenient and worth it! The meat is incredibly delicious, and I sleep better at night knowing where exactly our meat is coming from. Recommended!!

  2. Oooh, nice! I am not in the position to take advantage of this right now, but I am absolutely going to keep it in mind for the future! What a good idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

