Salsa!

The other day my friend Hannah posted some pictures of some jam she’d made, along with some salsa. At the time, I was staring at about 5 extra pounds of cherry tomatoes and had planned to make some pasta sauce to can. Salsa sounded far more exciting.

salsa!

I made the first batch and just stored it in jars in the fridge, but after deciding the recipe was good, I made a second batch and properly canned it. This was my first time canning something that wasn’t hot, and where normally I use the upside-down jar method, this time I actually did the whole water bath shebang. It worked! I’ll have salsa all winter now.

My recipe:

about 3 pounds of cherry tomatoes (that’s just what I have in excess at the moment, I’m sure other tomatoes would be just fine)
an onion (red or sweet, your preference)
2 jalapeno peppers, seeded
about a cup of shredded fresh cilantro
2 cloves of garlic
lime juice (I used 2 limes for this batch)
salt
small can tomato paste

Put the tomato paste and lime juice in the blender with a smidgen of olive oil. Add about 2/3 of the cherry tomatoes a small handful at a time, process lightly. You want slightly chunky, not soup. Add 2-3 cloves of crushed garlic and salt to taste.
In a large bowl, mix together the onion (chopped finely) the cilantro, and the jalapeno (also chopped finely). mix.
Take the rest of your tomatoes, dice them into small pieces and add them to the bowl. Pour the blended mixture over the chopped veggies and stir it all up.

If you aren’t canning it, let it rest in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors blend. If you are canning it, spoon it into sterilized jars, add fresh lids and process in a water canner for about half an hour. Remove from the canner and let the jars rest on the counter for at least 12 hours. After they’ve rested, check your lids to be sure they sealed.
You can reprocess any that didn’t, or just eat that jar first =D

The recipe above made 6 pint jars of salsa.

ps. You can also add fresh corn, but I didn’t grow any this year, so I didn’t.
This is excellent over black bean cakes with a dollop of sour cream!

One thought on “Salsa!

Leave a Reply

