foods you shouldn’t eat… eek?

So this all started when I read this post via a link on facebook, about the 7 foods experts won’t eat. In all honesty, quite a few items surprised me, including the fact that canned tomatoes topped the list.
The problem: The resin linings of tin cans contain bisphenol-A, a synthetic estrogen that has been linked to ailments ranging from reproductive problems to heart disease, diabetes, and obesity. Unfortunately, acidity (a prominent characteristic of tomatoes) causes BPA to leach into your food.

Then, reading my blogroll, I saw this post from la vida locavore, which really sunk the point in. Even supposedly organic producers like Muir Glen are denying the risks. Boo. =(

Luckily I canned a million jars of my own tomatoes this year, and you can be sure that trend will continue next tomato season.

canning 1

Now to plot out my potato garden and buy a popcorn popper. Yeah, I admit to having a slight microwave popcorn addiction. dammit.

11 thoughts on “foods you shouldn’t eat… eek?

  1. Lori, I had the same sinking thought when I discovered the problem with commercially canned tomatoes. Most other things on the list I was aware of, but our household was a pretty regular consumer of Muir Glen tomatoes. I too am thankful for the freezer full of home grown tomatoes. Though I’m wishing we had even more. We are big pasta and tomato sauce eaters! Next year we’ll plant more!

  2. Whoa, really?? Geez. *sigh* I don’t even have the first clue how to can tomatoes. But that’s what books are for. However, I seem to recall you saying that tomatoes are one of the things you really should have a pressure cooker to can. Have I remembered that correctly?

  3. I use an air popper for my popcorn needs – it’s a great snack for me and the kids while watching a flick or when we need something to tide us over. It takes about the same amount of time as microwave popcorn, no oil, and it entertains the little ones. (I bet your cats would love to watch it go. :)) I found it at Bed, Bath, and Beyond – I bet they have them at local thrift stores…

Leave a Reply

