Pie.

So Saturday was National Pie Day, and a group of us gathered to do what one does on such a day… make and eat pies. I made the Tomato, Onion and Cheese pie that my friend Hannah turned me onto earlier this summer.

tomato, onion and cheese pie

Today, there’s a monsoon outside and all this rainy, cold weather has seriously been doing a number on my sanity. To remedy this, I decided I needed more Pie. Now, this recipe isn’t really a recipe, so to speak, and normally I wouldn’t do this to you guys. However, one thing I hear people say a lot is that they think baking has to be super-complicated, and this is anything but. So, with that in mind, I present my easiest apple pie ever:

I use a pre-made crust, the roll-out kind. I have to say that pie crust is just one of those things that under normal circumstances, I don’t feel like fussing with. If you have an easy crust recipe, by all means use it!

easy apple pie

First, start with your apples. Wash em, core em, and slice them into thin strips. I only peel them if they’re a thick-skinned variety, they aren’t organic, or the skins look funny. The peel holds a lot of nutritional value, so think about that before you get rid of it all.
After you’ve filled your crust with sliced apples, combine the following in a bowl:

1/4 cup quick-cook oats
1/4 cup flour
1/2-2/3 cup brown sugar (you need more if the apples are tart, less if they’re a sweet variety)
2tbs cinnamon
1 tsp ginger (ground)
1/2 tsp nutmeg

mix together loosely (your fingers are fine for this) and pour over the top of the sliced apples.

Next, thinly slice some butter into chips. You can use real butter, but I use Earth Balance because I’m a hippie. Whatever you prefer is fine, really. Scatter the butter chips across the top of the pie.

After you’ve baked this in a pre-heated 350-375 degree oven for roughly 25 to 35 minutes (cook time depends on the size of your apple slices. You want the thing to be bubbling, and the crumble on top to be golden brown) pull it out, let it cool a little bit, then enjoy!!

easy apple pie

One thought on “Pie.

Leave a Reply

