My magic herb garden

(no, not those kinds of “herbs”, sorry)
Since I cook at home at least 5 days a week, we tend to go through a lot of herbs in this kitchen. During the summer, that isn’t a problem, because I can just wander outside my door and pick what I need. However, now that the temps have dipped solidly into “kill everything” territory, my herb boxes sit mostly empty. Sure, I can buy herbs at the farmer’s market, but they have a tendency to wilt a little too quickly in the fridge, and I hate the waste. One little trick I learned quite by accident in my days of apartment living was window-bottle gardening.
Did you know that even herbs which have been picked for a while can still sprout? Well they can!
Sage
Basil and Sage are two excellent examples of herbs with this ability. Just trim an inch or so off the ends, remove any leaves that would fall below the water line, put them in a pretty bottle and then a sunny windowsill. Keep an eye on the water level, on a really sunny day your herbs might drink quite a bit. Another tip is to not let the herbs flower, just pinch that part right off. In a week or two, depending on the plant, you’ll have little roots appearing! Magic!

Basil
You can either leave them to grow hydroponically, or plant them in a pretty pot when the roots get big enough.

Not all herbs will do this, unfortunately. Rosemary and Cilantro are two I’ve had no luck with. That said, trimming the cilantro and putting it in a vase does make it last longer than keeping it in the fridge, plus it looks so pretty in the window!

5 thoughts on “My magic herb garden

  1. Godsend! I love using fresh sage but have the same problem with it wilting before I can use most of it. This is great! Now to track down a warm windowsill the cats can get into… 😉

  2. Strange that you haven’t had any luck with Rosemary, that’s the herb that I’ve done this with the most. I often find that I pick a little more than I need for cooking, so I always stick the leftovers in a glass of water in the window sill and they always sprout.

    • Do you pick the woody stems and they do this, or should I try it with only the green tips? I’ve been cutting at the woody parts to try and make my plants more compact.

Leave a Reply

