What’s on My Food?

While researching the flower post, I ran across this amazing website; What’s On My Food?
According to their website:
What’s On My Food? is a searchable database designed to make the public problem of pesticide exposure visible and more understandable.
How does this tool work? We link pesticide food residue data with the toxicology for each chemical, making this information easily searchable for the first time.

For instance, I had a handful of almonds for breakfast, so I decided to see what the site had to say about them.

If you click the link, you can scroll down and see each pesticide listed out, along with it’s effect.
Now here’s where it gets cool – you can click the “organic vs conventional” bar for each pesticide and get a bar graph comparing residue on organic vs conventional versions of almonds.

Organic foods are often more expensive than conventional, and sometimes it’s really hard to fit all organic into your budget. That’s why I think this tool is so cool, you have the information you need to decide where it’s most important to spend your money, and why. For instance, if you are feeding a small child, or are expecting, developmental disruptors might be higher on your list of things to be wary of.

Also, for me, since I have a limited amount of room in my current garden, this tool will help me decide which crops would be more important for me to plant myself. For instance, cantaloupe has 27 residues found, while broccoli has 40. Combined with cantaloupe’s thicker skin which would help keep the residues out of the parts I’ll actually eat, I’ll probably be more likely to give space to the broccoli.

The site even measures residues in poultry (8 residues in thigh meat) and tap waters (46 residues), two products I wouldn’t have even thought about. Nifty!

There’s even an App for That.That will help you while you’re out shopping.

And now, it’s time for me to go find some organic almonds…

Leave a Reply

