More uses for old sweaters

I haven’t crocheted much lately because my hands had been giving me problems, but when it’s warm like this it becomes a lot easier for me. Of course now it’s entirely too hot to be thinking about scarves and hats, so I decided to try my hand at some baskets.
Many of the sweaters I seek out to reconstruct are finely woven, but lately I’ve been finding a lot of those great late-1980’s GAP sweaters… you know, the loosely woven, oversized cotton and wool ones that we all had in every color? (or was that just me) They don’t reconstruct well, but they DO unravel like a dream, and the yarns are really great for small projects like these. I left the cotton ones as-is, but decided to felt the wool. I’m sort of addicted to making these now, they are great sit-in-front-of-the-tv projects.
No pattern, so no two are alike.

Next batch of sweaters I get, I’ll try and remember to take photos of the unravelling process for any of you other recycling knitters!

3 thoughts on “More uses for old sweaters

Leave a Reply

