Winter Garden

My tomatoes are finally going bananas, but of course now that the night temps have suddenly dropped into the low 40’s, I doubt any of the fruit will ripen. Bah. I guess I’ll pull them green and make some green tomato salsa to can. The good news about all these low temps is that I can finally plant my winter garden! Here in the south, that’s like a whole other chance to get it right, especially if you add in the protection of a hoop house. Since summer was sort of a massive failure, I’m banking on this winter to get me back on track!

Here are some things I’m probably planting over the next 2 weeks:
Asparagus, Bok Choy, Broccoli, Cabbage, Kohlrabi, Radishes, Peas, Spinach, & Swiss Chard.

Last year I grew Kale and several lettuces, but I think I really prefer swiss chard to kale. Asparagus will be a new try, as will broccoli. I’ve had great luck with kohlrabi and radishes, and maybe this time I’ll actually get cabbages, since the spring crop got demolished by moths.

Is there anything else you like to plant in the winter? I’m in zone 7, for the record.

Leave a Reply

