Pecan Pie with Agave Nectar

This year, I made my first ever pecan pie, and it only took 6 months!

Heh, just kidding, but it did start in June with a visit by a hrududu:

Under all that insanely overgrown wisteria, were three glorious old pecan trees. We’ve been here 5 years though, and never gotten any edible pecans. Well, apparently the largest of the three trees was sending us a thank-you for rescuing it from the vines’ stranglehold, because I must have picked up close to 15 pounds of pecans in the last month:

So, of course there had to be pie.

However, I couldn’t find any corn syrup I felt good about using, so I decided to see what would happen if I subbed agave nectar for it. The answer? Well, it tasted fantastic, but in the next round I think I might add another egg or chop the pecans up smaller, as the ability of it to maintain a “slice” shape was a little pathetic. Yes, we had pecan cobbler =D

(which is why you only get a photo before it was sliced into, lol)

However, here’s what I put into it, if you bake and have suggestions, I’m all ears for a consistency helper!

1 1/3 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup agave nectar
3 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp grand marnier
2 1/2 cups pecans

and on this note, I think I’m going to go get another slice! Merry Christmas y’all!

2 thoughts on “Pecan Pie with Agave Nectar

Leave a Reply

