Hello real life!

So there was plague. omg was there plague. It hit our house like a sleigh full of germy gravel the day after Christmas (screw you, Santa) and we didn’t really start shoveling our way out of it until like two days ago.

In light of not feeling like death, looks like the husband and I are actually leaving the house tonight and heading to a Speakeasy party. I wish I’d had time to throw together a real costume, but I’ll just have to ransack my closet, grump a little and then settle for coveting my friend Aimee’s outfit, which I gather will be dazzling if the links to pieces from Etsy are any indication.

The Lady L taught me to not be afraid of handstands. I still fall right over, but there is much progress since the last time I tried (and gave myself a concussion – yes it was spectacular and became irrationally afraid of them). Her way of building up to them is much gentler, so when I fall over it’s a no-brainer to pop right back up.

Moving on!
I’m so excited I can barely contain myself about two upcoming projects I’m working on. One will be on Earth Day in the Village, and it will involve community education on lots of fun happy-earth stuff, a craft fair, craft making, and best of all, A PARADE! Even better, said parade will be at night, everyone will be lit up, there will be a marching band, fire dancers, lanterns, more dancers and giant puppets. Giant Puppets!

The other will be in the fall, also in the Village, and I’ll be a little more circumspect about the details except to say that it will be an immersive experience involving Russian folklore, dancers, more fire, puppets, fairy tales, bones and houses that run around on legs. Mmm Hmm. (Some days I can’t believe I actually get to make these things happen!)

There’s more stuff, but those are the two biggies so far, because they’re actually funded and being started on. I’ll update on the rest when I know if we can actually do the rest.

On a lower note, there’s some other sorta odd stuff happening which is kinda scary, but I have faith it’s the right stuff and that a year from now I’ll be really happy I did this. Sometimes it takes a lot of bravery and some thinking outside the box to get what you want and need, and I need to be brave.

Liz is moving out of the yellow house, which makes me a sad panda, but it’s really exciting for her future, so I can’t be too sad.
A girl named Kate is moving in, who some of you locals might know. She’s a really amazing artist who draws modern pinup girls, so that should be a lot of fun. I’m taking over the rest of the space to give myself some needed breathing room. This means I get to hang my aerial stuff inside for once, and install a ballet barre. There’s been no room for even a yoga mat in our house for so long, so being able to move again, (in climate control at that!) is going to be really, really good for me. I already feel a million pounds off my chest having made the decisions, so despite not quite knowing how I’m going to make it all work financially, I know it’s a step in the right direction.

Oh, and yeah, I need to make a lot more money this year. Got job?

Ok. Now I have to go clean the house because family is coming this weekend and this place still has gravel everywhere.

Leave a Reply

