Fascinating Inspirations!

My computer was acting all wonky and slow and I realized I had over 3 dozen tabs open of things I’d marked to read later. Oops! Here’s a few I thought worth sharing:

Amazing photos of some rarely seen sections of the Paris Underground, including some areas being demolished!
SleepyCity -Demolition of the Paris Metro

One couple’s amazing road trip through the Democratic Republic of Congo

you’ll lose a couple hours here if you follow the whole journey. I’m not anywhere near the end yet.

Not visual, but compelling nonetheless, I think I found this via Gala Darling.
On Never Feeling Hot an article on feeling desired from a male point of view.

I know I tweeted this, but it’s worth a link here. Intelligent conversation about what’s going on in Egypt.

ABC News has a challenge to furnish your home (ok, not really, but to think about doing it and trying to prove you can and see what it costs) and that led to this handy site who lists what stuff is actually still made in this country. (not what is just assembled in US Flagged ships that sit offshore of crappy labor law countries – oh, yeah, they do that. I’ll cover that another time.) According to the video at ABC, each of us spending an extra 3.33$ a year on US made goods would produce 10,000 new jobs. Interesting.

This has aired a couple times, but I keep missing it. Next up is next Tuesday, hopefully if I write it here I will remember. Those of you who know me well know this issue hits close to home for my family, it will be interesting to see how much they present, and how.
CIA Secret Experiments on National Geographic Channel
# A U.S. army experiment on New York City in 1966 exposed over a million people to the bacterium bacillus subtilis variant niger. Scientists used light bulbs filled with a combination of bacteria and charcoal particles, which they then dropped through vents onto the subway tracks.
# During this experiment, trillions of germs were released into the transit system during peak travel hours. The trials were conducted without the knowledge or cooperation of the NYC Transit Authority or Police Department.

Read more: http://channel.nationalgeographic.com/episode/cia-secret-experiments-3313/#tab-facts#ixzz1Cm9vkLSY

This sort of stuff just creeps me right out!

On a lighter note, the amazing artists behind Teetering Bulb (who I adore) have compiled an A to Z directory of inspiring artists, to be seen here, on Tor.com.

Last, but not least: The Thomas Beale Cipher
I wish I could remember where I discovered this, but regardless I just have to share this really amazing little animated mystery:

The Thomas Beale Cipher: Official Trailer from Andrew S Allen on Vimeo.

watch the whole film here: http://www.thomasbealecipher.com/ and see if you can solve all the riddles. (I haven’t yet)

*whew* ok, more later…

Leave a comment